Content Editor Locks

Content Editor Locks

Content Editor Locks

  • All users, except those assigned the Admin role, must lock items in the Content Editor before editing them
  • Sitecore keeps track of all locks
  • My Items lists all the items locked for a particular user
  • All locks must be removed manually
  • Admin accounts can unlock any item by clicking the lock in the Quick Action bar
  • There is no super list of all the locked items on a site

Locking Items in the Content Editor

  • Items must be manually locked before they can be edited unless the user is an Admin
  • Click the Lock command in the Edit group on the Page Editor tab of the ribbon
  • Click the Edit command on the Home Tab of the ribbon
  • Click the Edit command on the Review Tab of the ribbon

Content Editor Display of Locked Items

  • Lock icon appears next to item in Quick Action Bar if locked items are set to be shown
  • Check In appears in Workflow group on Review tab of ribbon
  • Name of user who locked item appears in Workflow group on Review tab
  • Name of user who locked item appears in notice line immediately above Quick Info section

Sources