Workflow Versioning

Workflow Versioning

How Workflows Affect Item Versioning

  • Workflows automatically manage versioning
  • If you lock/edit an item that is not in a workflow or is in the final workflow state, Sitecore creates a new version and places this new version in the initial workflow state
  • If you lock/edit an item that is already in a workflow, Sitecore does not create a new version.  You edit the version that is already in the workflow
  • Versions that are in a workflow state cannot be published
  • Versions can be published when they are in the final workflow state

Sources